AMRUT for Uttarpara - Kotrung Municipality for 2015-16

Uttarpara-Kotrung Municipality

The year 1851, regime of East India Company - cholera epidemic broke out in Uttarpara and its surrounding areas. The then Zamindar, Babu Joykrishna Mukherjee and other residents of Uttarpara tried hard to tackle the disease. The epidemic subsided but left Joykrishna thinking - how to stop recurrence of such scourge in future ? Progressive and forward looking - as was Joykrishna, immediately understood the value of modern sanitation system and need for germ free drinking water. And who else can ensure these community health standards other than a civic body ? Natural thinking, one would say today - but it was a tremendous step forward in mid Nineteenth century Bengal !


Towards the end of 1851 - Joykrishna and others appealed to then Govt of Bengal for setting up a Municipal Authority for Uttarpara. However, their appeal was rejected as a section of villagers opposed the move. Subsequently their second appeal was accepted after majority of residents understood its true potential and agreed. Thus was born Uttarpara Municipality - only the second town in Bengal to voluntarily adopt the Municipal Act of 1850 Sec XX16 (remember, Bengal in those days included Bihar and Orissa also - a vast territory larger than England, Scotland and Ireland put together). It would not be out of place to mention that Serampore, which was the first town to adopt municipal act, did so because of its European residents who forced its adption against the wishes of native people. Unlike Uttarpara - Serampore Municipality used to be managed by Europeans during its early days.

According to Municipality Act of 1932, all adult women and men inhabitants of municipal area whose age was 21 years or more and passed at least secondary school examination were eligible to vote for a municipal candidate. Kotrung was merged with Uttarpara Municipality in 1964 and it was renamed Uttarpara Kotrang Municipality with 20 members (nominated). The area of amalgamated Municipality is 2.07 sq. km.

The demarcation line of Uttarpara Kotrang Municipality is as follows: Ballykhal as Southern border, Hooghly river on the east, Konnagar Municipality as Northern border and Railway line on the west. The nominated Board was superseded on 22nd August 1966 and an administrator appointed. On May 21 1981, election of Uttarpara Kotrang Municipality was held on adult franchise system.

The Left Front won majority votes in consecutive three elections held in 1985, 1990 and 1995. Trinamul Congress won the last election held in 2000.

Makhla was merged with Uttarpara Kotrang Municipality on 9th August 1991, its area extended to 8.13 sq. miles.


The first meeting of the nominated board was held on 14th April, 1853 at Govt. Hospital building with the following members.

  • Mr. G Bright, Joint Magistrate, Serampore-President
  • Babu Jaykrishna Mukherjee Member
  • Babu Harish Chandra Bannerjee Member

In 1856 the board was expanded with another four members. Babu Bejoy Krishna Mukherjee, Babu Gobind Chandra Mukherjee, Babu Jagabondhu Bannerjee and Babu Taraknath Chatterjee.

Uttarpara Municipal area was demarcated as follows: Ballykhal as its Southern border, River Ganges (Hooghly river) on the East, Railway line on the West and Bhadrakali town as North border. Total area of Uttarpara Municipality was one and half sq. miles.

In 1862, 10 years after its inception, Uttarpara Municipality was superseded for 2 years over litigation on Tax charging. In the year 1864 Govt restored the authority. After long 29 years Govt. nominated Babu Bejoy Krishna Mukherjee as the first Indian Chairman of the Municipality. Nominated Boards continued from 1853 to 1884. As per Act III of 1884 - the Municipal area was divided into 4 wards with 2 members from

Introductory Note by Chairman


On the outset I would like to take this privilege to let know you that Uttarpara Kotrung Municipality has finished the preparation of DPR of AMRUT for Parks for the year 2015-16. The municipality has conducted introductory workshop of the AMRUT among the members of Board of councillors. Thereafter the core team has been formed for the preparation of the Plan. The Core team has organized several workshops, Focus Group Discussions, Ward Level Consultations among the people across the sections of the citizens and the staff members of the municipality. Citizen, elected councillors and other stakeholders have had interactive sessions and opined about their need, demand, aspirations and the concerned personnel duly recorded those views. It has been compiled by the technical persons of Uttarpara Kotrung Municipality which have eventually become the DPR OF AMRUT of Uttarpara Kotrung Municipality. The respected citizens expressed their valuable opinions and views. Again those views have been duly incorporated in the DPR.

The people of the municipality, the elected councillors, the staff members, the surveyors, the technical persons have extended their fullest cooperation in preparing the whole process of DPR of AMRUT. I must take the opportunity to acknowledge their endeavours and extend gratitude to the authorities of SUDA, MA Department of Govt. Of W.B. & M.E.Deptt for extending their cooperation.

I wish that this AMRUT would enable the ULB to undertake comprehensive, sustainable development of its jurisdiction with the growing demand of 21st century’s modernized society.

Uttarpara is situated in the southern part of the district Hooghly, West Bengal. Previously the town was confined between the river Ganges in East and the Railway track on the West, but no with as crossed the railway boundary and has included Makhla within its Municipal Boundary. The municipal area is bounded by the following.

  • On the north-- Boundary of Konnagar Municipality and kanaipur Grampanchayat.
  • On the east— River Hooghly
  • On the south— Boundary of Howrah Municipal Corporation,Bally Jagachha Panchayat Samity
  • On the west— Boundary of Raghunathpur Gram Panchayat.

Uttarpara - Kotrung Municipality

Core Planning Team

  1. Dilip Yadav, Chairman, Uttarpara-Kotrung Municipality
  2. Smt. Aditi Kundu, Vice-Chairperson, Uttarpara-Kotrung Municipality
  3. Sri Tapan Kr Basu, Executive Officer, Uttarpara-Kotrung Municipality
  4. Sri Manoranjan Barui, Finance Officer, Uttarpara-Kotrung Municipality.
  5. Sri Pralay Kumar Das, AFC, Uttarpara-Kotrung Municipality
  6. Smt. Ruma Bose, Urban Planner, Uttarpara-Kotrung Municipality
  7. Shri Madhab Banerjee, S.A.E- in- charge, UKM
  8. Shri Debasish Banerjee, S.A.E., UKM
  9. Shri Subhajit Bhowmik, S.A.E., UKM & Nodal Officer of AMRUT
  10. Atanu Sarkar, S.A.E. , UKM
  11. Sukanta Kansabanik, S.A.E., UKM
  12. Smt. Mousumi Ghosal , TPO , UKM
Sl No Name of the Maps
1. Map 1: Map of Uttarpara Kotrung Municipality showing all Parks
2. Map 2: Map of individual Parks

Map 1: Map of Uttarpara Kotrung Municipality showing all Parks


Map 2: Map of individual Parks


Position of Uttarpara in World Map